STATE OF NEVADA

JOE LOMBARDO Governor

DR. KRISTOPHER SANCHEZ Director

BRETT HARRIS LABOR COMMISSIONER



OFFICE OF THE LABOR COMMISSIONER 1818 COLLEGE PARKWAY, SUITE 102 CARSON CITY, NV 89706 PHONE: (775) 684-1890 FAX (775) 687-6409

OFFICE OF THE LABOR COMMISSIONER 3340 WEST SAHARA AVENUE LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89102 PHONE: (702) 486-2650 FAX (702) 486-2660

Department of Business & Industry OFFICE OF THE LABOR COMMISSIONER

www.labor.nv.gov

STATE OF NEVADA REQUIREMENTS FOR MEALS AND REST PERIODS

Nevada Revised Statutes 608.019 and Nevada Administrative Code 608.145

MEAL PERIODS

Pursuant to Nevada Revised Statutes section 608.019 an employer must provide a minimum of a 30-minute uninterrupted meal period, for a continuous 8 hours of work.

REST PERIODS

Pursuant to Nevada Revised Statutes section 608.019 an employer must provide an uninterrupted 10-minute rest period for every 4 hours of work or major fraction thereof. Authorized rest periods shall be counted as hours worked, for which there will be no deduction from wages.

REST PERIODS PURSUANT TO NEVADA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTION 608.145

1. Unless an employee is exempt pursuant to <u>NRS 608.019</u>, an employee that works at least 3 1/2 continuous hours is permitted:

(a) One 10-minute rest period if the employee works at least 3 1/2 continuous hours and less than 7 continuous hours;

(b) Two 10-minute rest periods if the employee works at least 7 continuous hours and less than 11 continuous hours;

(c) Three 10-minute rest periods if the employee works at least 11 continuous hours and less than 15 continuous hours; or

(d) Four 10-minute rest periods if the employee works at least 15 continuous hours and less than 19 continuous hours.

- 2. An unpaid lunch break is not considered when determining the number of hours worked by an employee for the purposes of subsection 1.
- 3. An employee may voluntarily agree to forego any rest period or meal period. The employer has the burden to prove the existence of any such agreement.

*Employers seeking an exemption from any of the requirements above must obtain approval from the Office of the Labor Commissioner.

Please review the most recent versions of the Nevada Revised Statues and/or Nevada Administrative Code for current laws.

This information is not intended as legal advice.